A Favorite Album

This past Saturday the wife, A, and I sat out on our back deck by our metal chimenea and listened to a variety of albums. One of the selection was Pink Floyd's 1973 Dark Side of the Moon, a personal favorite.

DSotM was the first album I bought on CD, at the young age of 12 (after having played my dad's cassette copy so much that it no longer worked). It has been a staple ever since, having accessed it in a wide variety of formats (CD, MP3, streaming, and most recently having purchased a vinyl copy for our record player). I'm a longtime fan of all Pink Floyd but DSotM is definitely my favorite, and easily ranks high in regards to all albums I like.

It is such a dreamy surreal record combining rich instrumentals with strange contemplative lyrics. It is not a long, play, just over 40 minutes in total, but it is delightfully well paced. It is a very deliberate feeling piece of musical work with every part relating too and complimenting back to each other.

I feel that its fame and lasting is well deserved. It is iconic, from the cover art, to the opening sounds, to the closing moments. A great experience through and through.